Wednesday, August 19, 2009

Additions to Electric Picnic line-up!

More news in regarding the Electric Picnic line-up, which is now becoming one of the most complete for this or any year, in our humble opinion.

The superb Passion Pit have been added (yaay!) after an excellent gig at Oxegen earlier in the summer, and releasing the superb album Manners this year. Top quality addition.

Also added are diverse electro act The XX, who release their debut album this week and have been heavily tipped in certain quarters to make a breakthrough. We loved their song Crystallised, see here.
David Kitt also gets the nod (double whoop!) after his most recent album, The Nightsaver (tip for one of the Irish albums of the year) and a jaw-dropping turn in the Body Soul last year with his younger bro' in their Spilly Walker guise. Can't wait to see Kittser do his thang again this year.

Cadenza label boss and Chilean DJ/Producer LUCIANO’s new project AETHER is another of the new additions, "an entire orchestra of live sets, an orchestra of colour, shape, form and sound… with Luciano conducting", as the blurb tells us.

David Geraghty will also appear (listening to his new album as we speak) as will 8 Ball.

The line-up for the dance orientated Little Big Tent has also been released, consisting of THE HACKER, OPTIMO DJs, SWITCH, ZOMBIE NATION, DUKE DUMONT, AEROPLANE DJs, EBONY BONES, ARVEENE & MISK and JAPANESE POPSTARS to an already stuffed programme.

Woop! For a full A-Z listing of the line-up see here.

Tickets are still on sale for 240 big ones and available here. Stay tuned for more news and a large colour feature that is presently being prepared for next week's paper (hopefully!)

No comments: